Sound deadening advice

reverend1

Kick Henry Jackassowski
Thread inspired by Tony.

I’m in the middle of redoing my guitar room. I really wouldn’t call it a studio. More of a practice room. The room is super live. It’s 12x14 with all hard surfaces.

Any recording I do is direct into the computer so I really looking more to deaden the sound. Both the volume and the echo.

I’ve been thinking of installing carpet. Maybe some baffles.

What do you guys think?

Ignore the mess. We are in the middle of repainting the house.

c1d330c4c089d206c35c742eecfd77ac.jpg
38176eff09105e274774dddfc30c45e9.jpg
672391824531000cff8d153a5dc9abf2.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm no expert, but an area rug (ex: Karastan) and some drapes for the window would probably do the trick (while keeping the room looking nice and usable for other purposes, if needed).

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

Carpet, yes.

You can further decouple the amps from the floor by putting them on stands. I have my amps on Auralex GRAMMAs. Which for apartment living have been totally worth it.

Carpet and selective curtain hanging will go a long, long way. If you add too much material, you'll deaden the room uncomfortably, so start with the floor and see how it changes the room. GRAMMAs and other foam based risers will help considerably, as would an amp stand. If you can build some inexpensive bass traps for your corners you'll have a big improvement.

Carpet and selective curtain hanging will go a long, long way. If you add too much material, you'll deaden the room uncomfortably, so start with the floor and see how it changes the room. GRAMMAs and other foam based risers will help considerably, as would an amp stand. If you can build some inexpensive bass traps for your corners you'll have a big improvement.

Define "uncomfortably".