Meditation/Mindfulness

I am not good at it, but it seems like if I just pull up a simple guided one on youtube, it helps me quite a bit. Any of you guys practice it? Does anyone have some resources for some relatively short guided practice?

I often lead guided visualizations, and use some mindfulness techniques to help me sleep. I have trouble getting to sleep due to racing thoughts; if I concentrate on my breathing I find it focuses my mind and allows me to go to sleep.

Mindfulness means, for me, being 100% conscious of my coffee and everything it offers me. That's about it, but it's a lot.

I do have a lot of Alexander technique ingrained in me as a classical musician as an actor. I find it incredibly helpful for identifying the stress points in my body. It's useful to lie on your back on the floor with a book under your head. You will soon realize that the moment you've relaxed one part of your body, tension will pop up somewhere else, just like one of those Whac-A-Mole games. But if you do it daily, it helps.

About a year ago, it seemed the world was conspiring to nudge me toward meditation. I ignored it. Too much ADHD.

About a year ago, it seemed the world was conspiring to nudge me toward meditation. I ignored it. Too much ADHD.
That is one reason I rely on a guided meditation. If someone tells me that I'm doing it wrong and I need to simply empty my mind of all thought my response is, yeah right. But with some guided meditation with or without some visualization I can call myself down pretty well. Even if I haven't achieved the umpteenth level of consciousness or anything. There is even some training available to lawyers on line. So I thought I would look for some at other good sources. I will check out the headspace one that Rev suggests.

I read some stuff about this in a book about the mental side of golf that made me want to try it. Haven't gotten around to it yet, though.

It would cut into my listening-to-music time...