Recommend me a Looper?

Cheese Grits

Kick Henry Jackassowski
If I want to be able to run vox and guitar through it... do I really need something more than a TC Ditto? Maybe the stereo Ditto, which is the same price on Amazon?

I don't currently have a pedal board, so space is not an issue. Yet.

What's so great about the x2? I can't imagine I would use the effects, so is the second switch worth the extra $$$?

I just bought an X2 last month. I'm still learning how to use it, but I'm having a ball playing around with it.

I recently picked up a Boss RC-3 used for about $90. I'm still learning how to use it properly, but I like the features - even the built in drum beats are useful for at home practice. One thing I'm not crazy about though is stopping the recording of the loop. It's is not as easy as I would like since you need to tap the switch 2 times. (I was warned of this by other Weiners.) It's not terrible, but it makes creating loops a little harder as you need to practice the timing of playing and tapping your foot twice very quickly at just the right moment.

Interesting. I would have thought there would be more no-nonsense loopers with a built-in mic pre. It's almost like there is a hole in the market.

I guess the issue is that you probably don't want to run your vocals through your guitar amp, and you probably don't want to run your guitar straight to the PA either.

I think I'm likely to look for a no-frills looper for my guitar amp, and I might pick up a foot switch and mess with the looper feature on my Roland AC-33 for acoustic and vox.

Interesting. I would have thought there would be more no-nonsense loopers with a built-in mic pre. It's almost like there is a hole in the market.

I guess the issue is that you probably don't want to run your vocals through your guitar amp, and you probably don't want to run your guitar straight to the PA either.