Dr Ducks

fused

Improvisationalist
At the recommendation of a few axe wielding string sliding maniacs.....
I purchased some Dr Ducks Ax Wax...

Now I have been using WD for over 30 years, spray on hand and wipe on strings method, not drenching the neck... Just sayin..

So finally, was placing an order, saw the stuff and 2 bottles landed in my mailbox.

So....lastnight, (remember that $50 roadside First Act prize?) I tried it as a string lube (main purpose) and as a wax.
Some said that as a wax it gave swirlys...and it does... But don't overdo it and its not all that bad...

As a string lube on the First Act... HORRID! But wait! It wasn't the wax's fault, can't polish a turd and that certainly includes that First Act used sitting out in the sun particle board plank with strings...

Knowing those that recommended this stuff well enough, some years on line anyhow, I trusted them and yes, out came the Gibson Paul. Same application method, apply to hand and then to strings and back of neck...
Well I puched in a patch that I use for shred and got the recording deck cranking some backings and 90 minutes later I was still shredding with great ease.... And I had forgotten about the Ax Wax until it dawned on me, 90 minutes, still slick and sliding and bends were so easy and ya know, I haven't added any more.. .One application was still going strong 1.5 hours later...and probably would had long after if I wasn't so worn out from 90 minutes of shredding non stop... And I do mean..NON STOP!

Now time will tell if it gunks up or anything but first impression is....well... impressive.

I did compare to baby oil as I use that to treat the fret board a few times a year.
Its is close...its like baby oil but way way way thinner....
Doesn't smell like diaper changing time either.. a serious ++++++++++

When I tried to use baby oil as a string lube, rather quickly it gunked up the strings.
This stuff, thus far, has not.

Ok, thats my review....