You know when you have to learn a tune and and it becomes a guilty pleasure?

Mark Wein

Grand Poobah
Staff member
I have to do a show with the faculty of one of the other conservatories at our school (The "Popular Music" conservatory) and one of the songs they put on the list was this Tal Bachman song:

Now I can't get it out of my head and I'm really looking forward to playing it tomorrow night.

Here is the rest of the show:

This song I've never liked no matter how much of a Lenny Kravitz fan I am:

This has always been a favorite and I'm actually singing it:

Before I found out that I have to use the student backline I started programming sounds for the show and I made a video for the STP sound:

The kids are playing a show called "90's Mix Tape" and the instructors wanted to pick songs that were in that vein that the kids would enjoy as a wrap-up to their tech week. One reason why I'm doing the show with them is because they are short guitar teachers and I'm hoping to pick up some classes next year in their conservatory since most of my current student population is graduating and there won't be as many guitarists in the jazz conservatory for me to teach.

Plus, I'm ACTUALLY a rock guy and it would be nice to teach what I'm good at finally.

Plus, I'm ACTUALLY a rock guy and it would be nice to teach what I'm good at finally.
That'll be refreshing and something to look forward to. Enjoy! :thu:

I'm with ya the Lenny Kravitz song. In fact, he's one of those artists that I should probably like, but has just never done much for me. :shrug:

@Mark Wein

I love that Tal Bachman song.... and I don't know if you guys do Mashups as much as my band does....

But I usually start "Basket Case" with this chorus:

Then transition into Basket Case:

Then I usually throw in some of this (transposed to the key of Basket Case)

but lately I've been just transitioning to this complete song:

He just wants to get way, he wants to fly away...:shrug: