G&L ASAT Jack Replacement

Modern Saint

Starve your Fear, Feed your Dream!
So after buying my G&L ASAT in 1991, I finally have to replace the jack. Been having issues of it intermittently cutting out. Sadly G&L's use a switchcraft deep panel jack

41%2BV0XmHOXL.jpg

So I will need to get a replacement and follow the following instructions on how to replace one.

http://www.guitarsbyleo.com/GALLERY/Tutorials/jack_replacement_landscape.pdf

Just though I would share.

If you can hammer the new one in, why do you need to twist the old one out with an easy out?

Tapping the old one out with a punch or screwdriver to get it moving should get it far enough out to grip it with pliers to pull it out.

I'm asking. I've never done it before.
I just thought that the easy out was needed so that it can be twisted so as to not grate any wood out with those ridges.

If you can hammer the new one in, why do you need to twist the old one out with an easy out?

Tapping the old one out with a punch or screwdriver to get it moving should get it far enough out to grip it with pliers to pull it out.

I'm asking. I've never done it before.
I just thought that the easy out was needed so that it can be twisted so as to not grate any wood out with those ridges.

I'd say that 1) It might be hard to get something into the cavity at a good angle to hit it out without destroying other stuff (though a punch should solve that problem), and 2) There's a very real danger of lifting some of the finish/wood while you hammer it out.

I think if I had to do it, and I couldn't get the jack out by hand, I'd probably use mole grips on the inside to unscrew it until I could get mole grips on it from the outside.

From a G&L site, in case you haven't seen it.