Achtung! Cryptocurrency dudes

jbj

Poor old Geordie's array...
I'm thinking of dipping my toe into BitCoin or Ethereum (or both) but there's so much info out there it's hard to see the trees for the forest.

I've got a small lump sum just sitting losing value due to inflation and I'm going to have considerably more disposable income month on month within the next few weeks so I definitely want my money working for me better than it is just now.

Pre-COVID I'd probably have looked into real estate / renting (I'd make a sweet slum landlord :embarrassed: ) but I'm not hot on that idea just now due to the market and (famous last words) BTC is here to stay and is only going to get more prevalent as banks and businesses adopt it.

CoinBase seems like it gets a good write up and seems accessible for a total noob like myself but is there anywhere else I should check out before getting involved?

Any pitfalls to be aware of (apart from the obvious) too?

Yeah. I will preface this by saying I am not a financial expert (and you should stop reading at that point), but with so many cryptocurrencies emerging the volatility is going to be pretty severe until this shakes down to a few 'standards'. If this is money you can completely afford to lose, then ok. I am way too conservative of an investor to mess with it myself.

I would try to find a good fiduciary financial advisor to at least bounce ideas around with.

Yeah. I will preface this by saying I am not a financial expert (and you should stop reading at that point), but with so many cryptocurrencies emerging the volatility is going to be pretty severe until this shakes down to a few 'standards'. If this is money you can completely afford to lose, then ok. I am way too conservative of an investor to mess with it myself.

I would try to find a good fiduciary financial advisor to at least bounce ideas around with.