Cooking wine...how long is the shelf-life?

Jbird

Kick Henry Jackassowski
As long as it smells ok and not vinegry?

I found an unopened bottle of red cooking wine that I had bought years ago (maybe 6-7+?) shoved back behind my spices on a little shelf under my microwave. No expiration date on it. I opened it and it still smelled like red wine, so I'm using it in my crockpot as I type this :embarrassed:

I think I bought it originally to try and make sauerbraten, then never got around to making it.

I don't mess with cooking wine; I just buy a bottle of cheap red.

Reactions: Tig
I'm not a wine expert, but if it hadn't been opened I would imagine it's still "good." Not that it was ever good to begin with, but it probably won't kill you.

We usually keep a four-pack of those little bottles of wine you find at the grocery store. They're probably the same brand as the "house wine" you get at a restaurant.

Should be OK as long as the cork didn't get too dry. Open it at take a sniff. You'll know right away if it turned.

Finally we can use this smiley for it's original purpose!
:cs:

Yep, if you have any doubt, run it through a coffee filter into a measuring cup.

If the filter ends up with all kinds of shit in it, pour it out.

What is this salted cooking wine you speak of? I just open a bottle of "drinking" wine when I need some to cook with, and we drink the rest... probably it doesn't even survive the meal that was being cooked.

I know of cooking sherry for some things, is that what we are talking about? I never heard of it being salted but it is a fortified wine so I'm not keen on drinking it anyway.

What is this salted cooking wine you speak of? I just open a bottle of "drinking" wine when I need some to cook with, and we drink the rest... probably it doesn't even survive the meal that was being cooked.