Xotic EP or Dunlop EchoPlex or ClinchFX EP-Pre or... ???

GilmourD

Eater of Worlds
Staff member
OK, so I wanna go the EchoPlex preamp/boost thing route. I'm just hearing things I like, but I'm not sure which way to go.

Initially I was thinking going with the Xotic... But is the Dunlop better/more faithful to the original preamp? The ClinchFX better? Or apparently the Tony Krank-made Orbit MB-3 Maestro Booster is a serious contender, too.

What've you guys used? What do you think?

TGP says the Dunlop doesn't come close. People seem happy with the Xotic EP boost.

I have no experience with any of it. But if I wanted an EP boost, I would get a Catalinbread Belle Epoch, and get a free delay pedal with my Echoplex preamp. :grin:

TGP says the Dunlop doesn't come close. People seem happy with the Xotic EP boost.

I have no experience with any of it. But if I wanted an EP boost, I would get a Catalinbread Belle Epoch, and get a free delay pedal with my Echoplex preamp. :grin:
Besides the fact that I already have plenty of delay on my board, does the preamp stay on even with the delay itself off?

Besides the fact that I already have plenty of delay on my board, does the preamp stay on even with the delay itself off?

There's a mini switch inside that changes the bypass from buffered to true. So if you leave it on the buffered setting, then the preamp is always on. I do that with my Echorec.

There's a mini switch inside that changes the bypass from buffered to true. So if you leave it on the buffered setting, then the preamp is always on. I do that with my Echorec.
Ever used one of the preamp only pedals? I have a TC Flashback X4 that works really well for the different sounds I need, so I definitely don't need another delay on my board.