Help! Why is it...

PunkKitty

Horny bag of electric meat
Why is it that I don't have a problem playing lead lines on bass but I struggle with it on guitar?

I'm a fairly competent bassist. I can pick up melodies and rhythms easily. I have no trouble finding my way up and down the neck on a bass. I usually play finger style. But I can use a pick with no problems and I'm teaching myself slap bass.

But with guitar I struggle to play stupid pentatonic licks. I can't seem to break out of that habit. I struggle with chords, melody, leads, etc. There is some sort of mental disconnect. I just don't get it.

I feel the same way. I can play simple little blues cliches but anything complex, and music theory, pretty much goes in one ear and out the other. One reason I’m focused on sitar now is because it’s all built from a system of rhythmic patterns played up and down on one string rather than playing horizontally across a lot of strings.

Same here. Bass lines are not that big a deal,guitar solos I noodle around the pentatonic box

A little of both in my case.
What is it in guitar that hinders the creativity that comes more easily with bass?
Are the 2 extra strings causing you option anxiety?
Maybe adapting jp_nyc's sitar approach would help. Limit yourself to improvise on 1 string only fro several choruses of a 12 bar blues, a chord vamp, ii-V's, etc. and see if it help.
Then try other limitations, like a few frets on 2 or 3 strings. If you find cool licks there figure out how to play them in other areas of the fretboard.

Worth a shot. I really think I need lessons to help me think and play out of my usual routine.

I just got an old acoustic from a friend, and it is helping a bit.