Question: Why is it so hard to get a straight answer about amp configurations?

PunkKitty

Horny bag of electric meat
I posed this at another forum:

I'm getting to the point where I'm playing small clubs and small halls. I'm currently using a Carvin MB10 amp (250 watts) with a Carvin 115MB extension cab. I'm thinking of upgrading my amp and buying an amp head.

The 115MB will handle 400 watts. I also have a Epiphone 1x12 guitar cab that I installed a Sica SL12B25P neo woofer in it . According to the speaker specs, it is rated for 250 watts or 500 watts continuous program power. I have no idea what this means in plain English. I'm a bassist and not a sound engineer.

The speaker is a bass speaker. Let's set aside the issue about it being in a guitar cab. I realize that this isn't optimal. For my purposes I don't think it will matter much since I play rock and primarily punk.

Since both speakers are 8 ohm, I should be able to use them in parallel at 4 ohms.

I'm trying to figure out how powerful of a solid state head I should be looking at to use both cabinets.

Reading what I've found online leaves me thoroughly confused. I'm just looking for a straight answer in plain English.

Would I get more volume using something like an all tube Fender Bassman 100 with dual outputs totaling 4 ohms?

I'm getting all kinds of responses about how the guitar cab will blow up because it's not optimized for bass. It's frustrating. Just answer the damn question!!!

Continuous rating is if you're running compressed (ie: prerecorded) material through it. Live music has much more dramatic spikes, so it's harder on the voice coil of the woofer (they get warmer faster). You basically need the extra overhead when running live music to make sure the cones don't blow out or the coils seize. If you're DJing, you can run more power without fear that your speakers will melt because the levels are more consistent.