Dig it! This girl is someone to watch out for

PunkKitty

Horny bag of electric meat
I saw The Screaming Females live this afternoon. Marissa Paternoster is a monster guitarist. She's tiny. The guitar is almost bigger than her. She is also self taught.

Here are some covers they did.

I dug Marissa and the original tune was decent, but I wasn't into the video. I get what they're going for and even appreciate the Corman-esque low budget effects, but unnecessarily twisted for me. More stupid than funny.I'll have to check out the Springsteen cover, but Sheryl Crow's music doesn't interest me so I passed on that one.

Thanks for the intro to some new talent.

Jess Lewis is one of Britain's biggest talents. She was only 16 here:

Here's some more clips if you need more convincing:

She even pulls off Guthrie Govan's music with ease:

One thing that may stop her from getting big is the fact that she is painfully shy when performing live

One thing that may stop her from getting big is the fact that she is painfully shy when performing live

Yeah, I remember from the first clip I ever saw of her, she's definitely hiding behind her hair. She's astonishingly good. Don't care about age or gender. That said, she hits me like Gil Parrish in that she's an hellaciously good or even great player, but I don't enjoy the music she plays. To date it's playing over smooth fusion-esque changes, just not my flavor. Similarly Ms. Cox can clearly play, but there's nothing catching me musically yet.

Marissa, however, is rawer and seems to have something to say. That doesn't make it any more valid, but it does catch my ear and has me wanting to explore more of her music.

Not bad.... Have you seen this one?

Obviously a fan of Joe Bonamassa. After watching her second video, the song about cowboys in Mobile, I found it ironic that she's French. I wonder how much time she's spent in Mobile. :messedup: She's definitely talented though.

Last edited: