Tesla had me really excited for a moment...

I do have to admit that my new car (came in this week) makes me very happy at a third of the price of the Tesla though. It was delivered in Monday:

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1465481620.422621.jpg

And yes, it's the same as the Santa Fe I've been driving for the last two years but my lease ran out. I would have kept that car a very long time.

Do you mean the reduced price sedan at 66K? They still have the other one coming out beginning at 35K. That is a lot closer to being doable. A few more years, while I drive my TDI, and a model I like may be reasonably in reach.

Figure out how much a month you spend on gas, then add that to your lease payment. Then total that for the term of your lease. If that is less than or equal to the cost to buy or lease the Tesla during that period then it would be worth it to get the Tesla.

Do you mean the reduced price sedan at 66K? They still have the other one coming out beginning at 35K. That is a lot closer to being doable. A few more years, while I drive my TDI, and a model I like may be reasonably in reach.

Figure out how much a month you spend on gas, then add that to your lease payment. Then total that for the term of your lease. If that is less than or equal to the cost to buy or lease the Tesla during that period then it would be worth it to get the Tesla.

Yeah. The $35k one would be great but not something I can do either. My new car is only new because my wife works for the manufacturer and we get a pretty special deal on employee leases. If we had the money we would own one not only because they are great cars but because they are a company that I want to support. After watching how they "make the sausage" in the auto industry with both my wife and her dad for the last 16 years I'd love to see the "Big 3" go away and some new companies with actual innovation and less historic baggage push forward.

Yes, Hyundais look like great cars!