Teachers, what are your favorite books to teach from?

Mark Wein

Grand Poobah
Staff member
What are your favorite books or other instructional materials?

What do you find indispensable for teaching?

Do you spend much time transcribing in lessons or do you have a library of the more common things that you can copy for your students?

books I use for teaching and learning

I started playing music just like everyone. I wanted to play music because I thought girls would dig me. Well I was wrong and decided to be a blues and roots musician. I would go out and see guys like little charlie and the nightcats and wanted to sound like little charlie. When I spoke to him he said buy the MIckey Baker Jazz and hot guitar book. The book was written in the 1950's and is still in print. Every week their is a lesson. When I toured with candye kane and had idle time in the hotel room I would go through a lesson. My chord vocabulary and my understanding of chord substitution comes from this book. Other than listening to tons of music I owe alot to mickey baker. I make a point to have mark order this book when my students want to learn jazz chording and soloing. talk soon yer pal tommy

What are your favorite books or other instructional materials?

Foundations for Guitar. :embarrassed:

What do you find indispensable for teaching?

Ketel One.

Do you spend much time transcribing in lessons or do you have a library of the more common things that you can copy for your students?

Classics are usually ready, but newer songs I have to pick out frequently. :(

Ass kisser. :embarrassed:

It really is, though. Almost everything else I use for beginners are exercised I've written or appropriated and modified from former instructors of mine. Most of my students aren't advanced enough to work out of other methods and such.