Reverb - MXR M300 vs. Boss RV-6

Thinking of getting a reverb to keep with my Fender Concert. I found a thread somewhere discussing these two and they seem likely. Any current thoughts? Seems like I can get the Boss a bit cheaper. A Gearpage thread I found seemed to be a toss up. Current thoughts here?

My ears don't pick up enough of a difference to care that much other than price, used.

Those two are universally praised, but people have preferences.

Depending on what you want, you may also want to look at the Catalinbread reverbs (Topanga and Talisman), the Subdecay Super Spring Theory, and the TC HOF2.

The MXR or the RV-5. I have no experience with the Boss reverbs, but during a Rig Rundown with Explosions in the Sky, they swear by the 5. They said the 6 is terrible compared to the 5. Those guys know their Reverb :grin:

Edit: it is the 3 they love not the 5.

The MXR or the RV-5. I have no experience with the Boss reverbs, but during a Rig Rundown with Explosions in the Sky, they swear by the 5. They said the 6 is terrible compared to the 5. Those guys know their Reverb :grin:

Edit: it is the 3 they love not the 5.

I hated the 3. It needs a treble cut mod, and there is one. I just didn't know about it at the time.

Ok, too hard to figure out which Boss so will probably just get the MXR when I do. I like the small enclosures also. and if it good enough for El Presidente . . .

Plus, I like the sound of my Carbon Copy so I would expect to like the sound of the MXR.

Ok, too hard to figure out which Boss so will probably just get the MXR when I do. I like the small enclosures also. and if it good enough for El Presidente . . .

Plus, I like the sound of my Carbon Copy so I would expect to like the sound of the MXR.

@Guitar Heel has the MXR, I've heard it and played through it. If I were buying a new Reverb pedal, it would be the MXR.