Question: MXR Micro Amp... battery suddenly dying quickly

cvogue

Yes, that's Oolong. :)
Hey all you MXR Micro Amp users (you know who you are!)

I've been using mine for a few years now and it's been great. Have to change the battery every couple of months or so (practice once a week gig about once a month).

Recently however it died during a gig 2 weeks ago, when I turn it on the LED comes on for a second, fades and then nothing. Replaced the battery and it was fine at practice last week and then died last night at practice in the same way.

One thing I noticed is that the backplate is metal and could possibly be shorting something out on the circuit board, unlikely but possible.

Anyone else see this with the Micro Amp or other MXR boxes?

People still use batteries?

:)

Yeah man... Eric Johnson knows the difference in sound between Energizer and Duracell!

rolleyes1
:grin:

Actually to be fair I think EJ said he likes the sound of his effects with batteries that aren't brand new and I agree, as a battery loses some of its charge the sound of certain effects can mellow. I just remember putting a brand new battery in a distortion box I had and thought "Wow that's harsh!" compared to how it sounded before.

Oh, and in reference to your question, I use a battery in my Micro Amp because I don't have any more adapter plugs available on my pedalboard... and the MA *used* to last a long time on a battery.

Yeah man... Eric Johnson knows the difference in sound between Energizer and Duracell!

rolleyes1
:grin:

Actually to be fair I think EJ said he likes the sound of his effects with batteries that aren't brand new and I agree, as a battery loses some of its charge the sound of certain effects can mellow. I just remember putting a brand new battery in a distortion box I had and thought "Wow that's harsh!" compared to how it sounded before.