Martin "Retro" Strings

I bought a set and was not impressed. Nowhere near as bright as Phospher/bronze and did not project well. They were very quickly replaced on the Epiphone. Even Carol heard the difference.

Yeah, I usually used D'Addario phospher/bronze. The Retro strings sounded pretty dead in comparison.

I have recently switched to Gibson Masterbuilt string on the Gibson and Epiphone; they seem to do well with those guitars and it brings me back full circle as I used to but Gibson strings when I started playing 50 years ago. :grin:

I have a set but I havnt used em yet. Was gonna try em on my big archtop Epi next time. Cause monel supposedly works well with mag pickups.

Maybe I should use them on the "Lennon" Epiphone. I have never really liked to sound of it.

The Epi Broadway sounds awful with regular roundwound strings. Weird upper harmonics. Right now I'm using Tomastic flatwounds on it. The monels should give you less overtones and more fundamentals, if that's what you need.

By weird upper harmonics I mean unharmonic harmonics, stuff that clashes to my ears.
Are you using phos bronze wound acoustic strings on the Lennon? If so I'd say def try the monels, a "white bronze" string, or some flatwound electric.

The Epi Broadway sounds awful with regular roundwound strings. Weird upper harmonics. Right now I'm using Tomastic flatwounds on it. The monels should give you less overtones and more fundamentals, if that's what you need.
Oh, I don't have regular roundwound; I have some kind of string that was recommended for it. My problem is that, unplugged, it just sounds so thin. I'm not too wild about it plugged, to be honest.

Oh, I don't have regular roundwound; I have some kind of string that was recommended for it. My problem is that, unplugged, it just sounds so thin. I'm not too wild about it plugged, to be honest.