Let's talk strings...

cvogue

Yes, that's Oolong. :)
OK, yeah I know this has been done a bazillion times, so let's do it again! What kind of strings do you use and why? Opinions on brands always welcome too.

I seem to bounce between Ernie Balls and D'Addarios (9's). EB's sound really good when new and they seem to have more high end edge to them which I like. I switched back to D's last night and I was very pleased with the tone at practice today. Beefier, more "oomph" which I really liked and from what I remember the D's sound better for longer. Again the EB's sound great when brand new but they seem to fade quickly.

What say you?!

For the record we play classic rock, mostly distorted, AC/DC, ZZ Top, Zep, VH etc...

I have been using Dean Markley Blue Steel for about 20 years. I like them on an LP. D'Addario on my Tele and Epi 339Pro.

Mostly Ernie Ball 10s...

My hybrid Stray/Tele gets GHS Nickel Rocker 10s...they are a semi-flat wound that really work on that guitar...

My acoustics get phosphor bronze lights, 11-52, either D'addario or EB Earthwood...

D'Addario XLs or Ernie Ball Slinky for most of my electrics. On my Steinberger guitars I use LaBella stainless steel double ball (type 2 TT) or soldered wrap (Type 3 TT).

I can't say that I'm faithful to any brand. Today I bought 7 string Power Slinky, D'add's NYXL 09-46 and Dunlop 10's
I like the NYXL's but not the price. EB's just seem to dull quicker than the rest.
I always liked DR strings but they are getting harder and harder to find.

I don't know the numbers, as I switched recently, but I use medium-light D'Addario strings on my acoustic. I hardly ever use my electrics, so I just get 10s at the music store in the preferred brand of the guy behind the counter.