is there a home-brew / zymurgy thread around here?

angry tele

L'effet c'est moi
ive been homebrewing for about 12 years now.

I all-grain, single to triple insfusions, and with the occasional decoction when Im feeling really authentic (naughty)
I have 2X 10 gallon rubbermaid mash/lauter tons, sparge arm, false bottom. 1 10 gallon brew pot, that boils +7 gallons of wort down to 5.5 gallons of wort in about 60 minutes. (with my kick ass 50,000 U propane burner)
1 emersion chiller counterfolw for chilling down to pitch temps, (I wanna get a plate chiller to knock down that lag time-takes over a half hour to cool down I wanna go from boil to pitch temp (68F) in 15 minutes)

I use pellet hops for bittering and flavor, and plug hops for flavor and aroma.(zero minute addittion, or dry hopped I use plugs) adjuncts your typical crystal 10-60L hops I like british nobles (fuggles.east kent gold), german
hersbrucker ,czech saaz. plus all the american varietal like cascade, willamette, centennial, simcoe northdown, et al...

yeast i make big starters (1/2gallon or bigger) with wyeast london ale wyeast ringwood ale wyeast london esb.

I dont keg. I bottle everything which is great for giving bottles way or taking them to the zoo or wherever bottles can be drunk. (legally)

I like to do traditional styles British bitters, esbs, and pale ales. Occasionally I make a balls-to-the-wall American IPA but usually i hit for a more well balanced quaffing beer.

anywho beer people rise up!!!! I know youre out there!!!!

Last edited:
Someone around here does, 2manband or something like that. I forget now. :embarrassed:

2 must have books for beginner or intermediate

how to brew by john j palmer -follow his direction/advise and your beer will be great
new brewing lager beer by -gregory noonan even if you dont lager this book is filled with great info on hops, malt, and all brewing process.