Holding Volume down with distortion/fuzz

As I said in the Mike Campbell/Bad Influence thread, the other guitarist in my band wants me to turn down even more (and we are playing very quietly with the drummer using an electric kit). The drummer does not wish for me to turn down and says he likes my sound) He, the other guitarist, wants me to get an attenuator as I used the Concert last time. He is an older guy who enjoys his Suhr start through a boutique tweed amp, probably about a 20 amp.

We are playing Pearl Jam, Audioslave, Social D, Radiohead (Creep), and etc. To me, the songs do not sound right if there is not a good helping of hair on the guitar of various flavors, and at least a little air needs to be moving. But the Concert does need to get up and move before it can accomplish anything close to that. I do realize that I am relatively new to bands and that I need to be careful about wanting to hear myself like I would in my room at home. But there does seem to need to be a little noise and air moving with those tunes.

So I am going to try the Peavey next as it overdrives sooner and maybe I can get the distortion/fuzz I want with lower volume. It's sound is more direct though. I could always point the amp away from the other guy so it is not so direct and I can still get the tonz. If not, I might be interested in a smaller amp. What do you guys think?

Sounds like the other guitarist is asking for a better blend of the guitars. If he's using a 20w amp, then you'll have to go smaller to get the blend he wants. I also suspect that he's not driving his amp to break up as much as you, so he's not near your volume, and he'll feeling lost in the band mix. Now that's a lot of assuming, so I would suggest talking to him - guitarist to guitarist - apart from the practice time, to clarify why he's ask you for change, and to clarify what you both want in the sound. Sounds like you both might have some compromising to do.