Grohl on his approach to guitar - (kick/snare pattern)

Disagree that lessons don't help. Good foundational techniques always help. Just interested in his approach and how he came up with it. Also how he approaches dynamics similarly to how he would handle his cymbals in terms of when he lets strings ring (chorus) and tightens it up (verse).

In a way, I understand, because I play the drums and guitar, too. I do think that playing both gives a leg up on feeling the music, in general. On the other hand, he mentioned suspended notes, so he has had to learn something as he went along. Either someone showed him, or he got a book and figured it out. Either way, he would have been taught something. I am self-taught on the guitar, but even I recognize the people that have helped me along the way, either through tips that were given, or through printed material I have read.

Still, I have no doubt that he has a lot of in-born talent for music.

In a way, I understand, because I play the drums and guitar, too. I do think that playing both gives a leg up on feeling the music, in general. On the other hand, he mentioned suspended notes, so he has had to learn something as he went along. Either someone showed him, or he got a book and figured it out. Either way, he would have been taught something. I am self-taught on the guitar, but even I recognize the people that have helped me along the way, either through tips that were given, or through printed material I have read.

Still, I have no doubt that he has a lot of in-born talent for music.
Yeah, I kinda ignore that part of it, as some of that is just attitude. I think the point is to learn to feel the music and make it sound the way you want by playing and experimenting, maybe using some other life experience as a guide, and not get too hung up on technical stuff.