Gibson vs. PRS playability

cvogue

Yes, that's Oolong. :)
Sooo... I've been playing my PRS exclusively for a couple of years and finally got my Les Paul tuned up and started playing it again and it was like a reunion with an old friend. For some reason I play better on the LP... faster, more fluid and my vibrato is better.

I'm wondering why the difference is between PRS and Gibson playability. I will say the LP's action is a bit lower and I know the scale length is different, only 1/4 inch though. I have small hands and the PRS neck is the "wide/thin" model... I think the LP's neck is a bit narrower.

Any thoughts from PRS/Gibson users?

At their best, they make fine instruments that play like butter. And well they should, since they're both overpriced.

The scale length absolutely does make a difference, and it's one with pros and cons.

But this is the bottom line issue:

"For some reason I play better on the LP... faster, more fluid and my vibrato is better."

My philosophy, especially when it comes down to well-made instruments, it's that it's the responsibility of the player to figure out what the instrument requires, and to make the correct adjustments accordingly. Every single instrument has its own personality. Personally, I really enjoy that process, and I guess it's because I enjoy the learning process.

Flip-side, some people want the guitar that's perfectly made for them, rather than having to make adjustments. I've found that those players are rarely satisfied, and tend to perpetually be buying, selling, flipping, and/or trading. As my grandmother used to say, it's easier to wear slippers than it is to carpet the planet.

The question that immediately came to my mind: "what made you exclusively play the PRS for a couple of years if you play noticeably better on the LP?"