Gibson experts... help needed!

Kerouac

weird musical dildo
I'm helping a lady go through her deceased husband's guitars; she wants to save a few for their daughters and other family members and the rest of them she wants me to eventually clean up and sell for her. After going through and cataloguing everything earlier today, she asked me if there was one I'd like to take as payment. He was a tinkerer and had quite a few instruments in various states of completion, and this one was tucked back into a corner. I had picked it up earlier and even in it's condition it just felt like it had some sort of mojo, so I picked it.

Let's start with some pics:
photo+1.JPG

photo+2.JPG

photo+4.JPG

photo+3.JPG

photo+5.JPG

photo+1.JPG

photo+2.JPG

photo+3.JPG

photo+4.JPG

photo+5.JPG

I am no expert,but where is the serial # ?
Any date on the back of the pups?

It's obviously been refinished and in the process they covered up the serial... I can kinda feel it under the finish, but I can't quite make it out.

Current pickguard and cavity is wired up with Alpha pots and StewMac Golden Age pickups. I also have the "original" black pickguard too. No other hardware.

One of my biggest concerns at the moment is whether or not the truss rod works, followed by the condition of the fretboard and the frets. I'd really like to get this fixed up and turned into a great player, because like I said, there's something very cool about it mojo-wise. But it might cost too much to make it worthwhile... I dunno.

Bone nut, get a set of Grovers for it... See if the pups work... Bridge and tone bar... From pics the frets don't look too badly worn...needs to have some 0000 steel wool taken to them... Can't tell if the neck is straight from the pics... Certainly needs some cleaning up. Can you seed a serial number?
Did he spray it?

I don't know, I'd fix it up and see where it goes... Could be one hell of a player.....

PS, ah someone beat me to it as I was typing lol