FMIC - you're killing me, buddy

Danhedonia

Noted duckfat enthusiast
Around 1980 I started playing guitar, with my first being a Gibson Sonex 180 Deluxe. That was used in righteous teenage punk anger, and several headstock glue jobs later the remains were tossed in a random dumpster like a serial killer's victim.

Since then, it's been FMIC products with no looking back: a MIJ Mustang and thinline Tele were my 2nd and 3rd guitars, and since then I've added about 20-30 FMIC products to my life. Since some time in the mid 90's, FMIC has been driving me nuts with their product (mis)-management.

* Still can't get an American Standard Jazzmaster.
* Very cool, popular models come ... and go. Right away. See: Fender Modern Player Marauder. Highway 1 Tele. Fender XII. Bass VI. Paisley Telecaster. etc. etc. etc.
* Speaking of models coming, how about that supply chain? For a huge company churning out product, the alignment between promo campaigns and street availability is poor. See: Vintage Modified offsets.
* From other thread (and perhaps one or two other posts around the internet): MIM vs. MIA vs. MIC/MII/MIJ/CIJ/MIK/pick a sweatshop nation ... far too confusing. A smidge better the past few years, but wildly confusing, and no, I'm not paying $1000 for a MIM guitar. Dream on.
* No standard Jazzmaster.
* Who's choosing the parts, Helen Keller? You have some gorgeous guitars in Squier's CV / VM lines. And then you save a few shekels putting really, really crappy hardware and electronics on them.
* Is there a reason you can't make a terrific $700 tube amplifier?
* How about offering more bound necks and bodies? You know, if Agile can do it, I'd think you can, too.
* That aftermarket part thing must be hugely profitable, given the way you make sure stuff doesn't cross product lines w/compatibility.
* After a couple of decades of careful thinking, you came up with the .... Bassbreaker. Whew.
* Still no Standard Jazzmaster.