Question: first touched a guitar two weeks ago

Hi. I am a software scientist and have never had the opportunity to even come close to a guitar, but I love music. I am 47 years old not and I have managed to squeeze out of my salary to buy a new guitar. It seems to be going well. I will beet a guitar instructor once every four months. I knew NOTHING but as soon as I bought it I learnt some theory and tuning, and am even learning to read music. I will take it slow for about the next five years. I play almost everyday for about 2m minutes, and the few notes I know sound well, but I cannot get into the beats or stay in beat for any length of time. Do you think if I continue seriously, by the time I am 55 will I be able to perform or even compose. I grew up poor in Africa and I did not have this opportunity. Now I am in UK. It seems music is natural to me as just after two weeks I am getting some melodies right.

Take lessons every week, not every few months (if you can). Play an hour a day! Good luck and welcome!

You can't judge your potential ability at this point...take some lessons, play the thing every day, and learn songs...

Yes, lessons with a real instructor will provide some structure to the learning process. They will guide you to your goals.
Play as much as you can every day. And it's not just about practicing whatever your current lessons content dictates. PLAY for fun, too.

What they said, welcome aboard. Keep up with it, improvement comes in small measures with time. The more time per day the more improvement per day.

Welcome to the MWGL forum universal!