Drum VSTs

Danhedonia

Noted duckfat enthusiast
Looking for any / all insights.

EZDrummer? BFD? What have you used, and what did / didn't you like?

I use Steven Slate...I have no complaints. There's a ton of sets to choose from in the platinum version. And they all sound good. You can stack multiple drums and mix to taste. For ex, you can take 2 snare drums. Maybe one has a great "pop" on the attack and the other one has more "body". You can stack them and mix until you get what you want from them. Etc. TBH, I'm still learning all the ins and outs.

I use Native Instrument's Kontakt as the sample host, then have a bunch of different actual libraries. The Steven Slate ones are really good for rock and metal.

Can I get Jim Keltner, Levon Helms, or Nigel Olsen in magical software for computer idiots?
I'd buy that. I'm still trying to grock how to manipulate the basic drum kits in Logic 10.

Really appreciated. I am thinking of starting with EZ drummer, but the Slate stuff also looks tempting.

One thing that is truly messing up my head is that in IOS/Auria, I can EASILY map each drum in my iPad app (PerfectDrummerPro) to separate channels.

But doing that with MT in Reaper? Like freaking advanced chemistry to me. WTF?

So let me ask - how "EZ" is the routing in EZDrummer? Slate?

In Slate it comes pre-routed. You can change it to you're liking but I never do. There's an onscreen keyboard that you can use to "play" the drums and then go in and create fills etc by hand. I use a midi keyboard with pads to actually play drums. I make a basic beat that fits my riff and then edit from there.

Thanks. What do you mean by "pre-routed?" I like having each piece of the kit on different channels. Is that how it is?