Do we have any Adobe Illustrator experts around?

baimun

Funkasaurus Rex
For all that I do in Photoshop, I absolutely SUUUUCK at Illustrator.

I've managed to build a few logos and such, but when I start trying to put gradients and paths.... Oh boy can I fuck up a file fast.

:embarrassed:

I have been using it on and off for professional purposes for over 10 years. What you need to know?

I have Illustrator on my work computer and have accidentally opened it a few times. I'm pretty familiar with the exit menu.

If wok and tgk03 can't help you, don't look at me.

So... @wok I have this logo I created (I made it in photoshop, exported it as shapes and shit and turned it into an AI.) The black and white has worked well for window clings and such....

http://baimun.home.comcast.net/~baimun/SandbarLogo.ai

But I colorized it in Photoshop (orange outlines... It's navy blue instead of black... gradients in the lettering.... but fuck me if I can't do this in AI. I got the gradient thing... was able to select the white areas and apply a blue-to-light blue gradient (there were a few little fucked up areas... but I CAN'T select just the black turtle and put an orange outline around it. I keep getting ALL the shapes. :gah:

SBBblueturtle.png

I tried sending the sticker/banner people the PNG but they need an AI so their vinyl cutter knows the shape to cut out the shapes with. :annoyed:

If I may interject:

When you exported, it draws the outside negative areas as shapes as well. It either groups the whole shebang or it behaves like compound paths. You can click on these separately and delete them.

I can fix in a jiffy, if you like. Also, your screen cutter might also want the outlines (strokes orange et al) converted to shapes.

Want me to do that for ya?