Celestion Blues...tell me about them.

Guitar Heel

Demented Trick
I have the curious.

As for my tastes, I'm all about that mid...bout that mid..no treble (or bass). The V30 is like an ice pick to my tender ears, and though I used to favor the Greenback, the G12H30 has been my favorite for some time now.

Where would the Blue fit on that spectrum?

Good question... I agree the V30 is harsh as hell to me. I have a greenback and a creamback in my rig, wondering what the blues are like. I know they're expensive and I think Rick Nielson uses them...

Good question... I agree the V30 is harsh as hell to me. I have a greenback and a creamback in my rig, wondering what the blues are like. I know they're expensive and I think Rick Nielson uses them...
They're pricey and LOUD...but I have a hard time interpreting the data on Celestion's site.

I have a 2x12 with Splawn small block speakers made by Eminence. They are similar to greenbacks only rated at 55W instead of 25W. Amazing speakers...best I've ever played through.

Not that, that answers your question at all....

I have the curious.

As for my tastes, I'm all about that mid...bout that mid..no treble (or bass). The V30 is like an ice pick to my tender ears, and though I used to favor the Greenback, the G12H30 has been my favorite for some time now.

Where would the Blue fit on that spectrum?

MUCH more efficient than the Greenbacks, brighter too, lots off upper mids, but they still roll off highs before they get too piercing. They've been design to accent that Vox chime that everyone loves them for. People like them for amps like 5E3 because the high sensitivity gives those amps some extra volume and and the upper-mid voicing brightens up the dark 5E3.

I have one in my AC15. Clean, shimmering highs without the ice pick. Tight bass - good upper mids. Glorious sound in the right amp.