Car of the Week 1973 Plymouth 'Cuda

Original-One-Owner-1973-Plymouth-Cuda-A132.jpg

Original-One-Owner-1973-Plymouth-Cuda-A080.jpg

Among the thousands of cars at a recent Iola Car Show in Iola, Wis., a bright red ’73 Plymouth Barracuda caught my eye. As I approached the Barracuda, the “340” emblem on the hood scoop came into focus and I realized this was the performance ’Cuda edition. Then, as I studied the car, it hit me. This ’Cuda had original paint. A peek through the driver’s side window rocked me back on my heels. The pristine black vinyl interior and Pistol Grip shifter on the four-speed had me wondering if it also had the original interior. As I walked around the car, I was amazed at the condition of the full black vinyl top and the black stripes on the fenders, doors and quarter panels. It became evident the car was very original and had not been restored.

I soon learned that, in the fall of 1974, Keith Conradt purchased a well-equipped Rallye Red 1973 Plymouth ’Cuda from Red Colligan Chrysler-Plymouth-Dodge in Waupaca, Wis. He was 23 years old and the ’Cuda was his first new car.

read more:
http://www.oldcarsweekly.com/car-of-the-week/car-week-1973-plymouth-cuda

and this could be an opportunity for me to post my '73 Dodge Challenger, again. :grin:

those cars (both 'cuda and challenger) with the 4 speed pistol grip shifter are really kinda rare. way many more were made with the auto tranny AND you can not transform an auto tranny to a 4 speed. mopar's bracket system was different between the two, unlike ford or chevy.
i've know two guys who've tried to convert an auto to a 4 speed and both of them ended up jerry rigging brackets together and welding them up.....and both of them broke all the time. so if you were to want a 4 speed car (and this goes for all mopar muscle cars 1966 - 1975) you have to get one that came that way.

Always liked the 'Cuda much more than the Challenger. The 'Cuda had cleaner lines and less angles.