GPOTD 11.22.17

Help!I'maRock!

Mediocringly Derivative
c7opdybh33xa5fwuxg7j.jpg

kpk11ms5kkoxibzb9f0u.jpg

dvdrbyzdsfmdkjubq7er.jpg

ewev2cpc8najpqkzkvut.jpg

Erlewine Automatic 1981 sunburst

Selling here probably one of the rarest guitars on this planet. It comes from the well-known guitar builder Mark Erlewine from Austin, Texas, USA. Definitely only 300 of these guitars were built in a small Japanese factory and my is the number 216.

I bought the guitar in 1981, shortly after Billy Gibbons of ZZ TOP occurred for the first time in Europe playing the legendary Rockpalast live on TV on 20.04.1980.

(See Video: ).

Since then she has been in my possession. I am a bassist and I only played at home. She is very well preserved and maintained.

The design, it is a mixture of stratocaster and Les Paul.

Set in mahogany neck with Rosewood fingerboard, Mahogany Body with flamed maple top and a DiMarzio USA humbucker at the bridge for a Les Paul typical, warm and fat sound. The bridge with the strings through the body, delivers the crisp attack and endless sustain. With the single volume knob, set the sound when turning back from heavily distorted to clear and clean. There is no sound lost by tone controls or switches etc.

The nut was replaced by a brass nut.

The guitar is in its original condition. On the back side of the body, I is a scratch protection. This can be removed again.

The guitar has a few dongs, but nothing striking. The frets are very well-rehearsed, no rattle, very smooth to play. The neck is straight and can be adjusted at the Gibson Style neck adjustment screw.

Especially nice (and also not all 300 guitars present) is the binding. Neck, head, body top and bottom plate have a cream, perfectly engineered binding, like a Gibson Les Paul Custom.