Guitar review - Xaviere XV-500.

Chihlidog

Kick Henry Jackassowski
Im trying to get some more guitar content up on the forum here, so I'll be reviewing all of my guitars in the near future. I'll start with the one I use most often, my Xaviere XV-500.

First off, though I am no expert, I have to say that for about 250 bones new, the quality of wood used seems excellent. It's a 3 piece mahogany body with a veneer on the back to make it look nicer.

XaviereBack.jpg

I also have to say it's beautiful on the front. love0

xavierebedroom.jpg

It's got a nice full sound unplugged, though not quite as resonant as some of the nicer guitars I have played/owned. The build quality is IMO excellent for a guitar in this price range. Fret ends are perfect, inlays are well done, etc.

The hardware is so-so. I had a knob fall off on me a month or so after I got it. One of the knobs is a bit off, so that it rubs on the body a bit. I didnt do this. Tuners could be better, this is my biggest gripe with it. They work but that is really all that can be said about them. I'd like to stick a set of Grovers on it. I've played worse, for sure, but tuners are such an important part of a guitar that anything less than REALLY good ones sticks out. Bridge and tailpiece are fine.

The electronics are pretty good. Some sharp drop-off on the volume controls past a certain point but nothing terrible. The pickups are FAN-FREAKING-TASTIC. I love these GFS buckers. I intend to slap a set in my other guitars one of these days. I can honestly say this is the best sounding guitar I own. Theyre full, fat, and not harsh while still articulate enough on lower gain settings. Everything on my soundclick and all demos I have posted here were done with this guitar.

The coil taps are great. There's a nice beefy but twangy sound with the switch in the middle position with the coils tapped.