PA advice: powered speakers vs passive?

pjackson92

PRSnorkler
My band is getting to the point of getting a PA together. I have been doing a lot of research on the whole powered speakers vs power amp into passive speakers. All I have been able to come up with is that going powered is more expensive to begin with but its easier to hook up and easier to expand. So what is yalls opinions on powered vs passive? Is there a sound difference between the two?

Go powered if you can afford it, just don't go with the really cheap stuff. I've been using a Mackie powered PA for close to 10 years and it all still works and sounds great. I had to put some $ into it, but it is still going and paid for itself a long long time ago !!!

The powered speakers that we have in my gigging band are great...it might just be better and newer technology but we have great clarity in the house. Having a powered sub or two is also a great thing. When it's time for me to get new speakers I'll end up buying powered. We use the Mackies and I think Prages' band uses the same model. Worth every penny.

The powered speakers that we have in my gigging band are great...it might just be better and newer technology but we have great clarity in the house. Having a powered sub or two is also a great thing. When it's time for me to get new speakers I'll end up buying powered. We use the Mackies and I think Prages' band uses the same model. Worth every penny.

Yep, I have supplied the PA and Prages has supplied the back-line gear for some time. Prages bought 2 of the Mackie 450's like I have and on occasion we use them all. I also have the 15" powered sub, just one. that's all you need unless you're playing Huge places. If it's small clubs, you could get away without the sub. You could get it later to beef it up !!!

so far everything I have read has pointed to go powered because of ease of use and setup and future expansions will be easier. Now I just have to convince the singer of this