Recorded the demo.. Need some feedback from you guys. (90's rock cover band content)

jaxn slim

Your Worst Nightmare
Now that I finally got my basement studio back in commission, my newest band got a chance to record our demo. The only issue is that I'm not really an engineer. But I took my best stab at it and thought I'd reach out to you guys for suggestions. It's definitely one of my best recordings so far.

Feedback on the playing would be appreciated, as well. It's the singer's first band, and he's never had a lesson, so I've been impressed with his professionalism. I'm the only guitar player, so I doubled up on a few parts. Otherwise, it's just one live take for the most part.

We're about to start churning out demo CDs and post these guys online, so I'd like to get it right the first time. :grin:

Radiohead - Creep

Stone Temple Pilots - Creep/Plush Medley

Weezer - Say It Ain't So

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Lulz at "Say It Ain't So" since you missed that jam on Saturday. :grin:

I'll give a listen here in a bit... I'm still transferring vids from the camera. :)

Lulz at "Say It Ain't So" since you missed that jam on Saturday. :grin:

I'll give a listen here in a bit... I'm still transferring vids from the camera. :)

Sweet. Looking forward to the videos.

Yeah. That's my life story: I leave the party then something awesome happens.

Last edited:
The STP one the bass sounds like it needs a bit of compression and a bit of a HPF on the low end, as sometimes it pops out as really overwhelming, at least on my monitors. Drums sound pretty good, but the snare could come up just a hair, mainly on Plush.

Weezer - I didn't know John Mayer was in your band. :embarrassed: Same thing here, I think the bass was a little undefined and the snare could be a little louder (or you could just turn the cymbals down a bit!) Vocals pre-solo are a bit rough, but that's a hard part to get right.

Have to listen to Radiohead one later.